Food Groups

Some foods share similar important nutrients, and are grouped together into ‘food groups’. According to the Australian Dietary Guidelines, for health and well being you need to:


The 5 main food groups in the Australian Dietary Guidelines are:

Bread, cereals, rice, pasta and noodles


Vegetables and legumes




Dairy foods – milk, yoghurt, cheese and calcium fortified soy-based alternatives


Meat, fish, poultry, eggs, nuts, legumes



2 other food groups outlined in the Australian Dietary Guidelines are:

Unsaturated Spreads and Oils

                                                                          Oil       Spoon_Butter


Discretionary Choices*


* Discretionary choices are NOT necessary or essential to our diet
NOTE: For information about serving sizes and the number of recommended serves for each food group, see our “Serves” page